





5th edition

16 – 17 November 2007 Palazzo degli Affari Florence, Italy

Friday, 16 November

8.30 - Registration of participants

9.00 – Welcome and Opening

Leonardo Domenici – Mayor of Florence Claudio Martini – President of Tuscany

9.30 - Introduction

Chairperson: **Ambra Giorgi** – President of the Commission for Culture and Tourism, Tuscan Regional Council

Paolo Cocchi – Tuscany Regional Minister for Tourism, Trade and Culture
 Pedro Ortun – Director of DG Enterprise and Industry, European Commission,
 Luís Queiró – Vice Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Transport and Tourism

10.30 – First Session – Agenda for a Sustainable and Competitive Tourism in Europe: criteria, methods and strategies

Chairperson: Angelo Balducci – Italian Presidency of the Council of Ministers, Department for Tourism Development and Competitiveness
 Luigi Cabrini – UN WTO, Department of Sustainable Development of Tourism
 Sergio Arzeni – OECD, Head of the Tourism Programme
 Luis Patrao – Portuguese Presidency of the European Union
 Gabriele Guglielmi – European Trade Union, Liaison Committee on Tourism
 Paolo Petrucci – Italian National Association of People with Hearing Impairment

11.45 - Second Session - Destination Europe, Destination Culture

Chairperson: Maruja Gutierrez Diaz – Head of Unit, Lifelong learning: innovation and creativity, DG EAC, European Commission
John Winton – ECTN, European Cultural Tourism Network
Maurizio Davolio – AITR Italian Association of Responsible Tourism
Rainer Plassmann – CEEP, European Centre of Enterprises with Public Participation and of Enterprises of General Economic Interest
Marco Sala – Director of Joint University Centre ABITA
Sorina Capp – Institut Européen des Itinéraires Culturels
Lars Nordström and Tomas Olsson – CRPM Sustainable Tourism Group

Conclusions: Francesco Ianniello – Head of Tourism Unit, European Commission

13.15 - LUNCH BREAK



14.45 – Third Session – Towards a European Network for a Sustainable and Competitive Tourism

Antonino Mario Melara – Regione Toscana (Italy) Mariene Andre – Joan Carles Vilalta – Generalitat de Catalunya (Spain) Laurent Greffeuille e Alexandre Noël – Region PACA (France) Malcom Bell and Neil Warren – South West England (United Kingdom) Rainer Jelinek – Upper Austria (Austria) Nils-Arvid Andersson – Region Skane (Sweden) Betina Meliss – Baltic Sea Region (Germany) Eric Nanchen – Region Valais (Switzerland) Katalin Hall – North-Hungary Region (Hungary) Carlsson Thomas – AER, Assembly of European Regions - Tourism working group

Operative Conclusions and Next Steps : Paolo Bongini – Regione Toscana

17.30 – Conclusions of First Day

Saturday, 17 November

9.30 - Paolo Bongini - Creation of the European Network for a Sustainable and Competitive Tourism

9.45 - Jean-Pierre Martinetti – Tourism Sustainability Group, EC

10.00 – Presentation for the Regions and Organisations promoting the Network

- 11.00 The operational development of the Network:
 - Coordination Set/up
 - Meeting in Catalonia
 - Meeting in PACA

Presentation and signature of the Memorandum of Understanding for the creation of the European Network for a Sustainable and Competitive Tourism

Conclusions: Paolo Cocchi – Tuscan Regional Minister for Tourism, Trade and Culture

12,00 – Final conclusions

The programme is subject to modifications